Welcome to the Stephen Crane House
A State and National Historic Site
One of the oldest standing houses in the city of Asbury Park, NJ — and the only surviving residence in the United States that boasts a direct association with the celebrated author of “The Red Badge of Courage” — the historic Stephen Crane House serves as the headquarters of the Asbury Park Historical Society, the nonprofit organization that has welcomed thousands of visitors to the onetime home of the 19th century novelist, journalist, short story writer and poet.
Built in 1878, and named in 2015 to the National Register of Historic Places, the house at 508 Fourth Avenue was the official residence of Stephen Crane (1871-1900) between June 1883 and August 1892, and remained under the ownership of Crane family members until 1899. The aspiring author would write his first short story and early poems while living at the house with his well-known mother Mary Helen Peck Crane, and would spend his summer breaks from school learning his craft as a correspondent for his brother Townley Crane’s news service. Known at various times in its history as Arbutus Cottage and the Hotel Florence, the house was rescued from condemnation and possible demolition in the late 1990s, and rechristened as a museum and cultural venue dedicated to the legacy of Crane and the early history of Asbury Park. The Stephen Crane House offers drop-in open house tour hours for individual visitors and small groups, Sundays from 12 to 2 pm or by appointment. Larger groups representing schools, clubs, and historical societies can arrange a tour via The Stephen Crane House on Facebook, or by calling 732-361-0189.
Information is also available on use of the Crane House for meetings, film/video shoots and other special events — and the building’s in-house Lecture Room Theatre regularly hosts such public-welcome cultural offerings as classic film screenings, plays, poetry readings, and music programs.
Now under the stewardship of the Historical Society, the Stephen Crane House remains a work-in-progress renovation and preservation project, for which donations of funds or historic artifacts and memorabilia are welcomed. Join us as we carry on the effort to preserve and maintain this unique cultural gem and community resource.
508 Fourth Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712 • 732-361-0189